Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » 2013 Golden i Award Finalists Announced

Home » Accolades » Currently Reading:

2013 Golden i Award Finalists Announced

July 10, 2013 Accolades No Comments Email Email

The Visitor Centre Association of Western Australia (VCAWA) is pleased to announce the finalists for the 2013 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award.

Nominations were open to entrants who play a leadership role in visitor servicing across the state. This is the first year that the award has been opened up to all staff rather than just managers, highlighting the important roles people play at all levels within visitor centres.

The desktop assessments have now been completed by the judging panel and according to Nicole Maas from the West Australian “We applaud the entrants as they were all of a high standard and it certainly made the judging very difficult and competitive. I am truly inspired by the dedication of the Visitor Centre staff and what they are achieving for tourism in WA”.

The judges are delighted to announce that there are two (2) entrants who have been selected as finalists. These are Kylie Aurisch, Retail Manager for the Busselton and Dunsborough Visitor Centres and Nicole Nelson, Manager Tourism and Library Services for the Dongara-Port Denison Visitor Centre.

Both Kylie and Nicole will now participate in a telephone interview with the judging panel and the winner of the 2013 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award will receive a cash prize of $1,000 thanks to the West Australian Newspapers.

West Regional Newspaper Group General Manager Ian Jones said “We are very pleased to be associated with this award and congratulate all those who work so hard to make the tourism experience extraordinary in WA. In particular, I congratulate Kylie and Nicole for their outstanding efforts on behalf of their local communities”.

Previous winners have included –

  • 2007 – Glenys Russell from the Kojonup Visitor Centre
  • 2008 – Felicity Anderson from the Bunbury Visitor Centre
  • 2009 – Scott Fleming from the Swan Valley Visitor Centre
  • 2010 – Narelle Brook from the Kununurra Visitor Centre
  • 2011 – Justine Nagorski from the Denmark Visitor Centre
  • 2012 – Yvonne Bradfield from Armadale Visitor Centre

This year’s winner will also receive a free registration to the 2014 Visitor Servicing Conference as well as taking home the perpetual trophy and a small replica to keep.

The 2013 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award winner will be announced as part of the Top Tourism Award Gala Dinner on Friday the 20th of September in Armadale, which forms part of the Annual Visitor Servicing Conference.

For further information on the 2013 West Australian Newspapers Golden i Award, Top Tourism Award Dinner or for the Annual Visitor Servicing Conference please contact the Lisa Hoskin at the Visitor Centre Association of Western Australia on or 1800 134 112.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication