Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » ASTW Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

Home » Accolades » Currently Reading:

ASTW Awards of Excellence Finalists Announced

July 6, 2016 Accolades No Comments Email Email

The Australian Society of Travel Writers is delighted to announce the finalists for the 2016 Awards of Excellence. 

The team of judges, gathered from around the world, have praised the quality of the entries with several saying they were inspired to travel to a range of destinations after reading them.

Thank you to everyone for entering and congratulations to all the finalists.



Travel Writer of the Year – Sponsored by South Africa Tourism

Kerry van der Jagt

Craig Tansley

John Borthwick  

Best Travel Broadcaster – Sponsored by Tourism and Events Queensland

Ben Groundwater

Quentin Long

Greg Grainger                                                          

Photographer of the Year – Sponsored by Tourism Authority of Thailand

Dan Avila

Jocelyn Pride

Mark Daffey

Best Story about the AGM Host Destination – Sponsored by Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia

Justine Costigan

Marie Barbieri

Angela Saurine

Best Family Travel Story – Sponsored by Signature Media

Belinda Jackson

Mark Daffey

Helen Hayes

Sheriden Rhodes

Best Travel Blog – Sponsored by TFE Hotels

Girl Tweets World – Jayne Gorman

Together We Roam – Rene Young

Boy Eats World – Aleney de Winter

Best Australian Story – Sponsored by Tourism Australia

Kerry van der Jagt

Andrew Bain

Celeste Mitchell

Best Food Story – Sponsored by Outrigger Hotels and Resorts

Sue Wallace

Sue Gough Henly

Carla Grossetti

Best Responsible Tourism story – Sponsored by Intrepid Travel

Kerry van der Jagt

Andrew Bain

Jocelyn Pride

Best Adventure Story – Sponsored by G Adventures

Andrew Bain

Lee Atkinson

Catherine Marshall

Roderick Eime

Best Cruise Story

John Borthwick

Craig Tansley

Jocelyn Pride

Best Story Over 1000 words – Sponsored by AccorHotels

Craig Tansley

John Borthwick

Marian McGuinness

Best Story Under 1000 words – Sponsored by Macau Government Tourist Office

Tim Richards

Rob McFarland

Kerry van der Jagt

Best Tourism and Travel Trade Story

Kristine Madden

Lee Mylne

Sheriden Rhodes


PR Campaign of the Year Sponsored by TravMedia

Kim McKay – Positively Wellington Tourism

Karena Noble – Launch of Field of Light Uluru

Natalie Schofield – Westin – World Sleep Day

Communicator or Communications Team of the Year – Sponsored byTravMedia

Klick Communications

Karena Noble


Best Tourism Organisation or Travel Product – Sponsored by ZOIK

Leigh Maloney – Snow/Ski Travel

Caroline Davidson – Rocky Mountain International

Karena Noble – Ayers Rock Resort Indigenous Tourism

Thank you to all the sponsors who have come on board to support the ASTW. There are still sponsorship opportunities available for a couple of final award categories. If you are interested in providing sponsorship, please contact Aleney de Winter.

The AGM in Cape Town is going to be fantastic – if you are thinking of coming it is not too late – sign up today by contacting

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication