Home » Headline News » Currently Reading:

Big prizes include a car – and next destination revealed

August 23, 2016 Headline News No Comments Email Email

egtmedia59TravelManagers national conference wound up in thrilling style in Bangkok on Sunday, with a host of prizes (including a car) being won and the long-awaited announcement of where next year’s conference will be held.

The 2017 event will be held in Darwin – a very popular choice, with personal travel managers giving it plenty of applause. It will take place from 7 to 9 September 2017, having been moved forward by one day so it can start with Darwin’s famous Mindil Beach Sunset Market on Thursday, famed for its vibe and its multicultural food: Thai, Sri Lankan, Indian, Chinese, Malaysian, Brazilian, Greek, Portuguese and more.

Meanwhile, a host of prizes were announced on the final night of the conference, including trips for two to fabulous destinations. A promotion with TravelManagers’ travel insurance partner Allianz Global Assistance (AGA) saw one lucky personal travel manager win a car – a brand new Mazda 2 Neo, including three years AGA Roadside Assistance.


The car wasn’t in Bangkok (it’s waiting in Australia) but the winner was there. After an exciting build-up, in which the finalists all chose keys and tried them in a lock that symbolically represented the car’s ignition, someone’s key fitted.

The winner was Erin Morris, who was suitably overwhelmed and delighted.

Following the awards and dinner, entertainment went on into the evening and beyond. The Enormous Horns, Australia’s renowned 10-piece all-singing, all-dancing, party band, provided the music. Festivities continued till about 5am the following morning.

Achievement award winners are listed below.

TravelManagers 2016 Award Winners 

Dedication Award ‘Celebrating 10 Years Working in Partnership’

John Lengacher

Liza Beylerian

Rosemary Kates

New Personal Travel Managers by State

New South Wales/ACT                      Louise McCarthy

Victoria/Tasmania                               Jutta Portelli

Western Australia/South Australia     Vanessa Maloney

Queensland/Northern Territory           Amanda Anthony

Most Improved Personal Travel managers by State

New South Wales/ACT                      Peter Carmichael

Victoria/Tasmania                               Matthew Collins

Western Australia/South Australia     Barbara Turner

Queensland/Northern Territory           Aileen Collins

Top Personal Travel Manager by State 

New South Wales/ACT                      Ric Pattaro

Victoria/Tasmania                               Rebecca Crosbie

Western Australia/South Australia     Barbara Turner

Queensland/Northern Territory           Simon Tinkler

Top Ten Personal Travel Managers – Australia

John Lengacher, representative for Windsor, Victoria

Ric Pattaro, representative for Haberfield, New South Wales

Lea Burford, representative for Torquay, Victoria

David Hull, representative for Mount Martha, Victoria

Barbara Turner, representative for Scarborough, Western Australia

Luke Vaughan, representative for Hawthorn East, Victoria

Peter Carmichael, representative for Merewether, New South Wales

Kylie Lutterell, representative for Black Rock, Victoria

Rebecca Crosbie, representative for Alfredton, Victoria

Jade Tziavaras, representative for South Yarra, Victoria

New Personal Travel Manager of the Year

Louise McCarthy, representative for Castle Hill, New South Wales 

Most Improved Personal Travel Manager of the Year

Matthew Collins, representative for Keysborough, Victoria

Clovermark Award ‘Innovation in Marketing Award’

Lauren Compton, representative for Condon, Queensland

Partner Supplier of the Year

PinPoint Travel Group

Advocate Award

Tanya Patterson representative for Clyde North, New South Wales

Recognition Award

Tanya Barker, representative for Narre Warren South, Victoria

Best Customer Service Award

Sue Kuti, representative for Randwick, New South Wales

Personal Travel Managers Choice Award

Luke Vaughan, representative for Hawthorn East, Victoria

National Partnership Office Support Award

Gary Jensen, National Partnership Office, New South Wales

Personal Travel Manager of the Year

Rebecca Crosbie, representative for Cardigan, Victoria

TravelManagers Spirit Award

Melanie Whyte, representative for Devonport, Tasmania

In another initiative, personal travel managers viewed for the first time a newly released video, which spearheads a campaign to introduce TravelManagers, and the benefits of the company’s ‘personal travel manager’ concept, to consumers. It lasts about one minute and can be viewed below.




Written by Peter Needham

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication