Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Diageo Announces Finalists for the Inaugral Women’s Empowerment Journalism Awards

Home » Accolades » Currently Reading:

Diageo Announces Finalists for the Inaugral Women’s Empowerment Journalism Awards

March 3, 2014 Accolades No Comments Email Email

Diageo, the world’s leading premium drinks company, today announced the 17 finalists shortlisted for its inaugural Women’s Empowerment (WE) Journalism Awards.

Part of an initiative under Diageo’s ‘Plan W: Empowering Women through Learning’ community strategy, the WE Journalism Awards aims to recognise and honour outstanding achievements in the reporting on women’s issues across Asia Pacific.

Over 300 entries published over a two year period between January 2012 – 2014 were received across five award categories. These included print, online and broadcast media based in Australia, Cambodia, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Vietnam, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and the Philippines.

“Since launching the inaugural WE Journalism Awards last November, it has been an extraordinary few months. We’ve had the privilege to read hundreds of outstanding articles from across Asia Pacific reporting on a cause that is close to our hearts. I’m extremely proud that the awards are drawing more attention to issues around women’s empowerment and the high calibre of work Candi Beach Cottageswe’ve received is testament to the great efforts ongoing in our region. The media have the power to influence change and we are honoured to acknowledge these inspiring journalists who are advancing the cause of women’s empowerment,” said Gilbert Ghostine, President, Diageo Asia Pacific.

Submissions came from a wide spectrum of local, regional and international media outlets. The 17 finalists represent dailies, news wires, online portals and magazines including Associated Press, Newsdesk Asia, People’s Daily, Women Agenda, Reuters, South China Morning Post, Time Magazine, The Sydney Morning Herald and broadcast channels including Al Jazeera, CNN and Mediacorp 938 LIVE.

All Awards entries went through a preliminary round of assessment by key media influencers who determined the top three finalists for each category based on the exemplary reporting of women’s empowerment issues. Due to such as high standard of entries, the judges have allocated an additional finalist in the Broadcast Story of the Year and Journalist of the Year categories.

The 17 shortlisted finalists will be judged by our panel of regional judges comprising three luminaries of journalism and social-activism. Hu Shuli,Editor-in-Chief of Caixin Media, John Wood, Founder of Room to Read and Su-Mei Thompson, CEO of The Women’s Foundation will select the winner for each of the following Award categories –

•                    Print Story of the Year

•                    Broadcast Story of the Year

•                    Online Story of the Year

•                    Photograph of the Year

•                    Journalist of the Year

All shortlisted finalists have been invited to attend the WE Journalism Awards Gala Ceremony on 7 March 2014, in Singapore, where the winners will be announced. The winner of each category will receive prizes worth up to US$10,000.

Launched in 2012, Plan W aims to reach women of all socio-economic profiles through training and skills development to empower two million women in 17 countries in Asia-Pacific over five years.  Further affirming its commitment to this cause, Diageo became the first beverage alcohol company in 2012 to sign up to the UN Women’s Empowerment Principles (UNWEP) to promote gender equality in the workplace, marketplace and community.

The finalists for the WE Journalism Awards 2014 are –


1.     Finalist: He Cong, People Daily Asia

Entry: 留守妇女不发愁 (Mutual-aid Group Alleviates Worries of ‘Left-behind Women’)

2.     Finalist: Denise Tsang, South China Morning Post

Entry: Engineering Change

3.     Finalist: Nilanjana Bhowmick, Time Magazine

Entry: Best Foot Forward 


1.     Finalist: Subina Shrestha, Al Jazeera

Entry: Nepal’s Slave Girls

2.     Finalist: Supriya Sobti, Al Jazeera

Entry: A Widow’s Penance

3.     Finalist: Aela Callan, Al Jazeera

Entry: It’s a Man’s World

4.     Finalist: Paula Hancocks, CNN

Entry: South Korea’s Comfort Women


1.     Finalist: Aly Song, Reuters

Entry: The Women of China’s Workforce

2.     Finalist: Bullit Marquez, Associated Press

Entry: ‘One Billion Rising’: Campaign to Eliminate Violence Against Women and Girls

3.     Finalist: David Gray, Reuters

Entry: Lipstick Security


1.     Finalist: Nilanjana Bhowmick, Time Magazine

Entry: India’s Golden Girls: How Sports and the Olympics Can Uplift Women

2.     Finalist: Jefry Tupas,

Entry: The War of Ana Luisa Calix

3.     Finalist: Sam de Brito, The Sydney Morning Herald

Entry: Meet the most powerful woman in the world


1.     Finalist: Denise Tsang, South China Morning Post

2.     Finalist: Sumnima Udas, CNN

3.     Finalist: Georgina Dent, Women’s Agenda

4.     Finalist: Michelle Martin, 938 LIVE

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication