Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » How to turn 16 days off into 27 days of holidays

Home » Insurance » Currently Reading:

How to turn 16 days off into 27 days of holidays

March 2, 2018 Insurance No Comments Email Email

As many Australians have settled into work for the year, online travel insurance provider InsureandGo is making 2018 a year of travel by compiling a guide to the year’s public holidays and has worked out how to maximise time off when paired with annual leave.

The top time of year for all Australians to travel is in April, with back to back public holidays nationally from Easter to Anzac Day where Australians can get off 27 days of holidays for only 16 days of annual leave.

“The start of the year can be a challenge for many back at work as they settle in to their roles and holidays start to feel like a distant memory. The best way to tackle this is to have something to look forward to like a holiday,” said Jonathan Etkind, Head of Sales, Digital & Marketing at InsureandGo.

“Different states will have different public holidays but nationally the best time of year to travel is April if looking to maximise your time off. It’s a great way to turn 16 days off into 27 days of holidays and potentially even have a second holiday later in the year with the leftover leave.

“We urge all travellers to purchase travel insurance when locking in plans such as accommodation and flights in order to help cover the cost of cancelled flights or other incidents if they’ve purchased the right level of cover,” said Mr Etkind.

With Australians commonly opting for the comfort of domestic travel during extended weekends and shorter holiday periods, it’s important to remember that unexpected travel mishaps can occur regardless of how close to home they are.

For example, couples making the most of Victoria’s extended Melbourne Cup weekend are insured for up to $5,000 for loss and theft of personal belongings and baggage when they select InsureandGo‘s Silver Sum Insurance. This is a vital addition to any trip, allowing travellers to enjoy their holidays with peace of mind.

For those in different states, InsureandGo has broken down the top times for holidays outside of April.

  • For New South Wales residents: Saturday 2 June until Monday 11 June (Queen’s Birthday) – take five days of annual leave and get 10 days off.
  • For Victorian residents: Saturday 3 November until Tuesday 6 November (Melbourne Cup Day) – take one day of annual leave and get four days off.
  • For Brisbane residents: Saturday 11 August until Sunday 19 August (Ekka Day) – take four days of annual leave and get nine days off.
  • For ACT residents: Saturday 26 May until Monday 11 June (Reconciliation Day and  Queen’s Birthday) – take nine days of annual leave and get 17 days off.

InsureandGo offers a range of policies to suit many travellers needs including cruising, domestic and backpacker policies. It also offers three levels of cover, including Bare Essentials, Silver and Gold to choose the coverage that best suits the trip.

2018 Public Holidays 

National
Friday 26 January Australia Day
Friday 30 March Good Friday
Monday 2 April Easter Monday
Wednesday 25 April Anzac Day
Tuesday 25 December Christmas Day
Wednesday 26 December Boxing Day / Proclamation Day (SA)
New South Wales
Saturday 31 March Easter Saturday
Sunday 1 April Easter Sunday
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
Monday 1 October Labour Day
Victoria
Monday 12 March Labour Day
Saturday 31 March Easter Saturday
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
Friday 28 September AFL Grand Final Friday
Tuesday 6 November Melbourne Cup Day
Queensland
Saturday 15 April Easter Saturday
Monday 7 May Labour Day
Wednesday 15 August Ekka People’s Day (Brisbane only)
Monday 2 October Queen’s Birthday
Western Australia
Monday 5 March Labour Day
Monday 4 June Western Australia Day
Monday 24 September Queen’s Birthday
South Australia
Monday 12 March Adelaide Cup
Saturday 15 April Easter Saturday
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
Monday 1 October Labour Day
ACT
Monday 12 March Canberra Day
Saturday 31 March Easter Saturday
Sunday 1 April Easter Sunday
Monday 28 May Reconciliation Day
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
Monday 1 October Labour Day
Tasmania
Monday 12 February Royal Hobart Regatta (Hobart only)
Monday 28 February Launceston Cup (Launceston only)
Monday 6 March King Island Show (King Island only)
Monday 12 March Eight Hour Day
Tuesday 3 April Easter Tuesday (Government only)
Friday 4 May AGFEST (Circular Head only)
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
Friday 5 October Burnie Show (Burnie only)
Thursday 11 October Launceston Show (Launceston only)
Friday 19 October Flinders Island Show (Flinders Island only)
Thursday 25 October Royal Hobart Show (Hobart only)
Monday 5 November Recreation Day (Northern half of state)
Friday 30 November Devonport Show (Devonport only)
Northern Territory
Saturday 31 March Easter Saturday
Monday 7 May May Day
Monday 11 June Queen’s Birthday
Monday 5 August Picnic Day

Comment on this Article:







Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership

ADVERTISEMENTS

Elite Partnership Sponsors

ADVERTISEMENTS

Premier Partnership Sponsors

ADVERTISEMENTS

Official Media Event Partner

ADVERTISEMENTS

Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication

ADVERTISEMENTS

GLOBAL TRAVEL MEDIA VIDEOS

ADVERTISEMENTS