Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Le Meurice launches the 10th edition of the Meurice Prize for contemporary art

Home » Hotel Deals » Currently Reading:

Le Meurice launches the 10th edition of the Meurice Prize for contemporary art

February 28, 2017 Hotel Deals No Comments Email Email

Le Meurice celebrates this year the 10th anniversary of the Meurice Prize for contemporary art.

Since 1835, artistic creation has always been essential to the identity of Le Meurice.

True to its heritage and its interest in the art of its times, Le Meurice founded in 2008 the Meurice Prize for contemporary art, and in doing so asserted its support of young artists. This act of corporate patronage is a non-profit initiative which each year provides financial support that will help an artist gain international recognition.

To celebrate this anniversary, Le Meurice has decided to offer 1000 euros to each of the finalists, to support their creativity.

The Meurice Prize for contemporary art is an international award with an endowment of €20,000. It concerns all disciplines in the visual and plastic arts (painting, sculpture, installation, photography, video, etc.) and distinguishes a project of international stature, proposed by an artist and their gallery, two weeks before the FIAC contemporary art fair in Paris.

The jury for 2016/2017:

Jean-Charles de Castelbajac, Patron of the Prize; Lola Gonzalez, Artist and winner 2016/2017; Montse Aguer, Director of the Centre for Dalinian Studies; Colette Barbier, Director of the Fondation d’entreprise Ricard; Nicolas Bourriaud, Art Theorist and Curator; Philippe Dagen, Writer and Professor at Université Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne; Jean de Loisy, President of the Palais de Tokyo; Jennifer Flay, Director of the FIAC; Marta Gili, Director of the Jeu de Paume; Henri Loyrette, Conseiller d’État; Maryvonne Pinault, Collector; Claire Moulène; Art Adviser and Franka Holtmann, General Manager of Le Meurice.

Since its launch in 2008, 9 artists have been awarded:

Zoulikha Bouabdellah et la Galerie La B.A.N.K – 2008/2009

Renaud Auguste-Dormeuil et la Galerie In Situ – 2009/2010

Éric Baudart et la Galerie Chez Valentin – 2010/2011

Mathieu Kleyebe Abonnenc et la Galerie Marcelle Alix – 2011/2012

Alexandre Singh et la Galerie Art : Concept – 2012/2013

Neïl Beloufa et la galerie Balice Hertling – 2013/2014 Mark

Geffriaud et la Galerie gb agency – 2014/2015

Saâdane Afif et la Galerie Mehdi Chouakri – 2015/2016

Lola Gonzàlez et la Galerie Marcelle Alix – 2016/2017

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication




11 12