Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel: Proud to be the Official Hotel for the Hong Kong Sevens

Home » Sports » Currently Reading:

Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel: Proud to be the Official Hotel for the Hong Kong Sevens

May 11, 2016 Sports No Comments Email Email

The 71 exciting games of the 2016 Hong Kong Sevens were held successfully from 8 to 10 April 2016 at Hong Kong Stadium.


Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, situated in the heart of Tsim Sha Tsui, was proud to be the Hong Kong Sevens’Official Hotel partner for the 18th consecutive year. One week before the matches, theteams checked-in to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, creating a great buzz in the hotel and around the whole neighbourhood.

For the 2016 tournament, Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel accommodated all 28 teams in over 400 guestrooms. The players resided at Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel from 1 to 11 April. The hotel has 18 years of experience in providing the highest levels of hospitality for the rugby stars and catering to their special requirements, from providing bottled water, sports drinks, towels and ice packs to healthy and delicious cuisine. Hotel associates were excited to welcome back the players and provide exceptional service for guests throughout their stay.


Below are some interesting figures from this year’s Hong Kong Sevens:

2016 Fun Facts

Luggage handled 1,400 pieces
Towels used 6,400 pieces
Water consumption 30,000 bottles
Ice packs used 1,040 pieces
Sushi consumption 18,000 pieces
Salmon consumption 250 pieces (whole salmon)
Banana consumption 4,000 pieces
Watermelon consumption 600kg

The international event draws rugby fans from around the world. “The Hong Kong Sevens is a highly anticipated annual sporting event and a wonderfully fun weekend in Hong Kong. Every year we welcome a lot of rugby fans, from as far away as Australia, UK and USA. The fans are very excited that they can stay at the same hotel with the players,” says James Ong, General Manager of Marco Polo Hotels – Hong Kong.

Results of 2016 Hong Kong Sevens

– Cup Champion: Fiji                – Cup Runner-up: New Zealand

– Plate Champion: England

– Bowl Champion: Argentina

– Shield Champion: Russia

– Qualifier Champion: Japan

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication