Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » New Zealand regions welcome 2015 Cricket World Cup

Home » Tourist Boards » Currently Reading:

New Zealand regions welcome 2015 Cricket World Cup

August 1, 2013 Tourist Boards No Comments Email Email

Seven New Zealand centres have been chosen to host matches in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 – spreading the major international event throughout both the North and South Islands.

Cricket World CupAuckland, Hamilton, Napier and Wellington in the North Island and Nelson, Christchurch and Dunedin in the South Island will join seven Australian cities to jointly host the tournament in the summer of 2015.

The announcement is welcome news to Kiwi sporting fans who fondly remember the “stadium of four million” concept that brought the country to life during the Rugby World Cup in 2011.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the world’s largest sports tournaments and the flagship event of the international cricket calendar. All eyes will be on the chosen cities from 14 February to 29 March 2015 as they not only host thousands of players, officials and fans, but are also profiled globally to an expected television audience of more than a billion people.

As well as a warm welcome, visitors can expect a diverse range of scenery and a varied cultural experience as they travel the throughout New Zealand’s host regions.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication