Home » Accolades » Currently Reading:

NZ Hotel Awards – finalists announced

May 23, 2016 Accolades No Comments Email Email

Top performing individuals in hotels around the country have been announced as finalists in the 2016 New Zealand Hotel Industry Awards.http://recruitment.travelcounsellors.com/au/?utm_source=eGlobal&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=Its%20time

Twenty-three finalists will compete for awards across seven individual categories, from the Housekeeper Employee of the Year to the Senior Hotel Executive, plus an award for a hotel showing real innovation to help neutralise its impact on the environment.

“These are the New Zealand hotel sector’s premier awards. Both the calibre and high number of entries reflects the optimism and record results the hotel sector is achieving,” says Sally Attfield, Hotel Sector Manager at Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA), which co-hosts the Awards with Horwath HTL.

“This year’s expanded Awards programme recognises the key roles that go into running a successful hotel.”

Stephen Hamilton, Director, Horwath HTL, says: “The awards set a benchmark of excellence that others can aspire to, and they celebrate the individuals and hotels delivering an outstanding visitor experience. More visitors stay in hotels than any other forms of commercial accommodation.”

 The finalists: 

Administration Employee of the Year

  • Kamlesh Kumar, Financial Controller, James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, Wellington
  • Joanne Thomas, Executive Assistant, The George, Christchurch
  • Alison Sheedy, Human Resources Advisor, The Langham Auckland

Environmental Initiative of the Year

  • The Langham, Auckland
  • Hilton Lake Taupo

Front Office Services Employee of the Year

  • Carmel Bishop, Reservations Manager, The Langham Auckland
  • Jenna Abramowitz, Front Office Manager, InterContinential Wellington
  • Alison Borland, Guest Relations Executive, SKYCITY Grand Hotel, Auckland

Housekeeper Employee of the Year

  • Denise Thornton, Executive Housekeeper / Environmental Manager, James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, Wellington
  • Meripa Aiono, Executive Housekeeper, Novotel & Ibis Auckland Ellerslie
  • Heide Holtz, Executive Housekeeper, Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Outstanding Young Hotel Executive, sponsored by ServiceIQ

  • Zak Muysken, Rooms Division Manager, InterContinental Wellington
  • Sarah Croskery, Executive Assistant Manager, James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, Wellington
  • Brad Garnett, Revenue and Contact Centre Manager, SKYCITY Hotels Auckland

Revenue Manager of the Year

  • Stephanie Bickers, Revenue Manager, James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor, Wellington
  • Deborah Kennedy, Revenue Manager, Crowne Plaza Auckland
  • Brad Garnett, Revenue and Contact Centre Manager, SKYCITY Hotels Auckland

Sales & Marketing Employee of the Year

  • Sarwan Singh, Sales Director, The Langham Auckland
  • Julie Pine, Sales and Group Reservations Manager, Hotel St Moritz Queenstown
  • Elizabeth Burnett, Marketing Manager, SKYCITY Hotels Auckland

Senior Hotel Executive, sponsored by AHS Hospitality

  • Bruce Garrett, Managing Director, The George, Christchurch
  • Olivier Lacoua, General Manager, CQ Hotels Wellington
  • Bradley Burnett, General Manager Hotels, Tower & Car Parking, SKYCITY Hotels Auckland

The New Zealand Hotel Industry Awards winners will be announced at a gala dinner at The Langham, Auckland on 2 June 2016, the finale of the 2016 New Zealand Hotel Industry Conference. Visit the Awards and Conference websitewww.nzhotelconference.com

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication