Home » Responsible Tourism » Currently Reading:

Polar Bear conservation

January 4, 2016 Responsible Tourism No Comments Email Email

The Polar Bear Range States (Canada, Denmark (Greenland) Norway (Svalbard), Russia and the United States) all signed the Agreement on the Conservation of Polar Bears in 1973.

unnamed (1)

In September 2015 a Circumpolar Action Plan regarding a Conservation Strategy for the Polar Bear was published. Besides up to date information about Polar Bears the document contains strategies to address threats to the Polar Bear population.

As a part of the Norwegian efforts in regard to the new conservation strategy AECO has been invited to participate in a Government of Svalbard initiated working-group on Tourism and best practices in regard to Polar Bears.

The 2015 Circumpolar Action Plan can be accessed via AECO’s webpage: http://www.aeco.no/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/2015-11-20-Conservations-

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication