Home » Sports » Currently Reading:

Rugby World Cup Sevens Coming to AT&T Park in San Francisco July 20-22, 2018

May 9, 2017 Sports No Comments Email Email

USA Rugby has announced that the world’s best rugby sevens players will thrill U.S. crowds at the Rugby World Cup Sevens on July 20-22, 2018 in San Francisco.

Wildly popular around the world, rugby sevens is a fast-paced game that more than compares with the speed, agility and teamwork of American football and soccer.   Teams are made up of seven players playing seven-minute halves.

Iconic AT&T Park in San Francisco will provide the spectacular backdrop for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2018. The three-day tournament features 24 men’s teams and 16 women’s teams competing for the title of world champions. The 42,000-seat ballpark, which is home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team and events year-round, is one of the most familiar and highly rated sports venues in the U.S. and is located in downtown San Francisco, along the waterfront overlooking the bay.

Fans can begin planning their trip to San Francisco for the Rugby World Cup Sevens 2018. Tickets and travel packages for RWC Sevens 2018 will go on sale in July 2017. More information is available at the new RWC Sevens 2018 website, www.rwcsevens.com.

To register for the Rugby World Cup Sevens newsletter, visit www.rwcsevens.com/newsletter.

This will be the seventh staging of the tournament, which has previously been held in Edinburgh, Hong Kong (twice), Mar del Plata, Dubai and Moscow. Having won both the men’s and women’s events at the famous Russian venue of Luzhniki Stadium, New Zealand will be back to defend their titles but will likely face considerable resistance in the form of Olympic gold medallists, Australia (women’s) and Fiji (men’s), not to mention strong home competition from both USA sides.

“San Francisco is the ideal location for the best-ever Rugby World Cup Sevens. Our city has become an expert at hosting global sporting events like the recent Super Bowl 50 and the 34th America’s Cup. Our passion for sport is fed by our three-time World Champion San Francisco Giants and NBA Champions Golden State Warriors. We are eager to welcome rugby players and fans from all over the world,” said Joe D’Alessandro, president and CEO of the San Francisco Travel Association.

World Rugby Chairman Bill Beaumont said, “Announcing the exact dates of the tournament is an important stage of preparation as it means that supporters can really start to plan their trip. With three days of amazing rugby action on offer, coupled with everything else San Francisco and surrounding area has to offer, it could really be the holiday of a lifetime for rugby fans around the world.

“The success of rugby sevens at last year’s Olympic Games in Rio gave the game a huge shot in the arm and we are working hard to ensure its popularity continues to rise in the coming years. Part of that is building on the success of previous RWC Sevens tournaments, which come at the mid-point in the Olympic cycle. This will be the first time the RWC Sevens has been held in North America and I know rugby fans in the USA and also in Canada are really looking forward to it.”

USA Rugby CEO Dan Payne said, “We are proud to play host to the Rugby World Cup Sevens. This event will bring the world’s best and put them in front of a large audience of rugby fanatics and showcase our great sport to a new batch of sports fans. We’re equally excited that this great tournament will be played in our backyard and in front of our youth, inspiring the next group of rugby stars.”

San Francisco Giants President and CEO Larry Baer said, “We are thrilled to be hosting this prestigious tournament in 2018. Since our ballpark opened in 2000, we have hosted many world-class events. To now have the opportunity to welcome the top rugby sevens players and their fans from all over the world to AT&T Park is a great honor for us.

The Rugby World Cup (RWC) is contested every four years. The event has proven to be a hit with fans, broadcasters and sponsors around the globe with its winning blend of compelling and competitive action, global destinations and festival atmosphere.

There will be three aspects to the qualification process with teams qualified by virtue of their finish at RWC Sevens 2013 in Moscow, via the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2016-17 or through regional competitions.

In the men’s competition, the eight pre-qualified quarter-finalists from the Moscow 2013 games are Zealand, England, Fiji, Kenya, South Africa, Wales, Australia and France, along with 2018 hosts USA. The top four nations from the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series 2016-17 – excluding these pre-qualified nations – will qualify for RWC Sevens 2018. The remaining 11 places will be filled by teams through regional competitions from June 2017 to April 2018.

In women’s competition, the four prequalified semi-finalists from the Moscow 2013 games are New Zealand, Canada, Spain and USA. The top four nations from the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series 2016-17 – excluding these pre-qualified teams – will qualify for RWC Sevens 2018. The remaining eight places will be filled by teams through regional competitions from June 2017 to April 2018.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication