Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Sentosa’s New Tanjong to Host Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship

Home » Golf Tourism » Currently Reading:

Sentosa’s New Tanjong to Host Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship

October 19, 2016 Golf Tourism No Comments Email Email

Incheon, Korea: Singapore’s Sentosa Golf Club has been selected as the host venue for the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship (AAC) in 2018 – the 10th anniversary edition of the tournament.

“We are proud to join the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation, the Masters Tournament and The R&A in this tremendous endeavour as host of the Asia-Pacific Amateur Championship in 2018,” said Low Teo Ping, President of the Sentosa club, a Golf Course Facility Member of the Asian Golf Industry Federation.


Andy Johnston (far left), Low Teo Ping (second left) and Ross Tan (second right) at the announcement that Sentosa Golf Club will stage the AAC in 2018,

“The opportunities afforded to the amateurs who compete in this event are truly life-changing. It will be an honour to welcome young players from across the region to Sentosa Golf Club, where we believe their talents will be appropriately displayed and challenged.”

The 2018 AAC will take place from October 4-7 over The New Tanjong Course. Originally designed by Frank Pennick in 1972 with the help of Singaporeans Dennis Lee and Alan Choe, The New Tanjong was redesigned in 2016 by Andrew Johnston and Matt Swanson and is in its final stages of redevelopment.

It will be the second time that the AAC has been held in Singapore. In 2011, Japan’s Hideki Matsuyama emerged triumphant at the Singapore Island Country Club.

Ross Tan, President of the Singapore Golf Association, said: “After seeing the 2011 AAC bring more people to the game of golf in Singapore, we are thrilled to welcome back this special championship.

“The AAC opens doors for amateur golfers throughout our region and inspires others to embrace the sport and grow their skills. We look forward to building upon the development of the game in the years to come by supporting the AAC and its continued impact on golf in the Asia-Pacific.”

First opened in 1974, Sentosa Golf Club became the host of the Singapore Open in 2005, which is now the SMBC Singapore Open, as well as the HSBC Women’s Champions since 2012.

The club is home to two golf courses and is located on the resort island of Sentosa, surrounded by scenic views of the Singapore Harbour and Singapore Straits.

The eighth AAC is currently taking place at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club in Korea and being conducted in partnership by the Asia Pacific Golf Confederation, the Masters Tournament and The R&A.

The champion will receive an invitation to compete in the 2017 Masters Tournament at Augusta National Golf Club and, along with the runner(s)-up, a spot in The Open Qualifying Series for The 146th Open at Royal Birkdale.

Previously, the AAC has been hosted in nations and territories across the Asia-Pacific region, including Singapore (2011), China (2009, 2013), Japan (2010), Thailand (2012), Australia (2014), Hong Kong (2015) and South Korea (2016).

New Zealand’s Royal Wellington Golf Club will act as host in 2017.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication




11 12