Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Seven Natural Wonders Declares Tanzania’s Seven

Home » Destination Global » Currently Reading:

Seven Natural Wonders Declares Tanzania’s Seven

April 19, 2014 Destination Global No Comments Email Email

The Seven Natural Wonders of Africa were declared in February 2013 and now the Seven Natural Wonders of Tanzania join the official list of wonders from around the world.

Tanzania, with Mount Kilimanjaro, Ngorongoro Crater, and the Serengeti Migration, is home to three of Africa’s seven wonders. Tanzania Tourist Board shared, “We are excited that three of Africa’s natural wonders are in Tanzania. The entire country is honored to be Home to these icons.”

Tanzania now has the distinction and honor to be the first African country to declare the winners for the country’s Seven Natural gI_66019_Mount_KilimanjaroWonders. As would be expected, the big three from Africa’s list top the winners. Ms. Devota Mdachi, Director of Marketing, Tanzania Tourist Board stated, “To have three of Africa’s seven and to now be the first African country to declare its seven natural wonders, will definitely place Tanzania on the World Tourist Map.”

Reaching the final four was a close race between several wonder candidates from throughout Tanzania. Tanzania is a beautiful country from border to border with an array of encounters with nature that would make any country envious. Ms. Mdachi added, “It was a thrill to watch the various Tanzanian wonders compete for the distinction of being one of the seven. The world will now get a taste of Tanzania’s natural splendor.”

The initial wonders were vetted and voted on by the Declaration Committee and the voting body of conservation experts for Seven Natural Wonders. A campaign, which started in 2008, was enhanced with collaboration from the Tanzania Tourism Board, Tanzania National Parks and Ngorongoro Conservation Area Authority, who together championed voting throughout Tanzania and by leveraging the international voice through visitors to the various national parks and Ngorongoro Crater.

The campaign concluded at the end of 2012 with the votes being tabulated in 2013. Dr. Phillip Imler, President, Seven Natural Wonders said, “Although the winners have been known for months, it is an honor and a privilege to announce them to the world today.”

Accompanying Mount Kilimanjaro, Serengeti Migration, and Ngorongoro Crater are the following wonders: Selous Game Reserve, Gombe National Park, Ruaha National Park and Kitulo National Park. Dr. Imler closed the declaration saying, “These are all worthy representatives for the country and awesome destinations to be incorporated into travelers’ bucket lists. Congratulations to each of the winners.”

Voting took place through a variety of venues including the Seven Natural Wonders site and winners are now recognized and celebrated on the Official Seven Wonders site. Interested parties are invited to visit either site and cast their votes for other countries.

Seven Wonders is the official record for the Seven Wonders around the world. The organization is committed to helping people discover, explore and learn more about the world’s wonders ideally developing a philosophy and practice of protection and conservation.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication