Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Seychelles Raffles of Praslin takes the throne of the best Carnival Local float delegation

Home » Destination Global » Currently Reading:

Seychelles Raffles of Praslin takes the throne of the best Carnival Local float delegation

May 7, 2014 Destination Global No Comments Email Email

Seychelles-TravelRaffles of Praslin is the winner of the local float category for the 2014 edition of the Carnaval International de Victoria, taking the throne from Jj Spirit Foundation.

The Raffles of Praslin team went back to their island with R35,000 while Jj Spirit Foundation settling in second place won R25,000.

STA WINNER OF SCHOOL FLOAT AND RAFFLES PRASLIN WINNER OF LOCAL FLOATThe Indian Ocean Tuna Limited succeeded to take the third position to pocket R15,000.

More than 40 floats from Seychelles and around the globe paraded the streets of Victoria on Saturday afternoon, performing for the large crowd that had gathered in town.

The floats paused at the VIP area in front of the National Cultural Centre to perform for those sitting there which included President James Michel.

On Sunday afternoon, the best school, local and international floats were announced and they received their prizes during the official closing ceremony held at the Freedom Square.

In the school category, the Seychelles Tourism Academy came out as the winner to pocket R20,000.

The Seychelles Institute of Teacher Education (SITE) finished in second place and as their prize, the SITE team received R15,000.

Mont Fleuri secondary school settled in the third place winning R10,000.

Prizes for the two categories were sponsored by the Seychelles Tourism Board.

Apart from the local and school floats, the international delegations that took part in the carnival were also rewarded with Gold, Silver & Bronze trophies.

Minister Alain St.Ange, the Minister for Tourism and Culture was present for the prize giving ceremony along with Designated Minister Vincent Meriton, Minister Mitzy Larue and PS for Tourism Anne Lafortune. Representatives of Co-host countries were also on stage during the prize giving ceremony The ceremony was being coordinated by Sherin Naiken, the CEO of the Tourism Board.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication




11 12