Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Six New Inductees for Australian Aviation Hall of Fame

Home » Accolades » Currently Reading:

Six New Inductees for Australian Aviation Hall of Fame

November 15, 2016 Accolades No Comments Email Email

mark-binskinThe Australian Aviation Hall of Fame (AAHOF) inducted five individuals and Bush Pilots Airways at a gala ceremony at the Temora Aviation Museum on Saturday night.

This annual event, the fifth since inauguration in 2012, showcases the achievements if individuals and organizations who have made outstanding contributions to civil aviation in Australia and around the world.

The 2016 inductees are:

  • Lester Brain AO, DFC – distinguished pilot and the first General Manager of Trans Australia Airlines (TAA) who established the airline from 1946;
  • Macarthur Job – renowned aviation safety journalist and pilot who wrote proficiently for the Aviation Safety Digest;
  • Horatio (Horrie) Miller OBE – test pilot, commercial air operator and co-founder of Western Australia’s MacRobertson-Miller Airlines;
  • Sir Robert Norman OBE, aviator and businessman who established Bush Pilots Airways in Queensland;
  • Edgar Percival – test pilot, engineer and designer of the Percival Gull among other aircraft;


Bush Pilots Airways, which was established as a one aircraft operation in Cairns in 1951 and grew to a substantial regional airline in Queensland, received the “Southern Cross Award” in recognition of its substantial contribution to Australian aviation as an organization and to the development of communities in remote and regional communities.

“These five outstanding individuals and “Bushies” join thirty two other individuals and five organizations in the Hall of Fame. All have made quite incredible contributions in their respective fields for the major benefit of Australia, particularly regional and remote Australia,” Mr Padgett said.

Previous inductees include Sir Charles Kingsford Smith, the founders of Qantas, Sir Reginald Ansett, the first woman to fly from Australian to England and Cape Town, Lores Bonney, aviator and adventurer, Dick Smith, the inventor of the Black Box flight recorder, David Warren and many others. Previous recipients of the “Southern Cross Award” include the Royal Flying Doctor Service, Qantas Airways ltd and the Australian Air Force Cadets.


The induction dinner was attended by some 190 guests from all over Australia including representatives of the families of the Inductees. Air Chief Marshall Mark Binskin AC, Chief of the Defence Force was guest speaker and highlighted his early aviation career.

Nominations for the 2017 Inductions are available through AAHOF’s web site : More information and the stories of all inductees can also be obtained from the web site.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication