Home » Headline News » Currently Reading:

Social media kill switch wipes out your internet presence

November 30, 2016 Headline News No Comments Print Print Email Email

egtmedia59With many people sharing every detail of their lives on social media and about one-fifth of leisure travellers turning to social media platforms for inspiration – what if somebody designed a way to let people disappear from social media completely?

They just have, so this confronting option is now with us. A new site has made it possible to step back, take a deep breath, push a few buttons, stop sharing everything with the world and just disappear – in a social-media sense, anyway.

If you are fed up with being pestered by people you’ve never heard of, or if you find yourself irked by a compulsion to communicate everything, the button on a new site called Deseat.me may have a certain appeal. The site, developed by Swedish cyber gurus Wille Dahlbo and Linus Unnebäck,  offers a way to wipe your existence off the internet in a few clicks.

The Invisible Man

 

It’s a big step. Obviously, you need to be sober at the time, and sane. You start by logging into the website with a Google account. The site then scans for the services and apps you’ve created an account for, and presents you with a list accompanied by delete links pointing to the unsubscribe page for each service.

You can be account-less within an hour, free to wander off and live in a cave, or just exult in a newfound freedom from internet and social-media-induced stress. You can rejoice in tranquillity, or contemplate the Japanese concept of honne (a person’s true feelings and desires) and tatemae (the behavior and opinions one displays in public, or on public forums such as Facebook).

Escape!

Escape!

 

Deseat.me is not something to be taken lightly.

“Privacy and data security is something we regard as extremely important,” the site says.

“In fact, its our number one focus from beginning to end. That’s why we built it to run on your computer. So basically the only thing you’re telling us is what accounts you want to delete. That’s it, and since we use Google’s OAuth protocol we don’t have access to any of your login information.

“Welcome to deseat.me!”

Written by Peter Needham

Comment on this Article:







Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership

ADVERTISEMENTS

Elite Partnership Sponsors

ADVERTISEMENTS


Premier Partnership Sponsors

ADVERTISEMENTS


Official Media Event Partner

ADVERTISEMENTS

Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication

ADVERTISEMENTS