Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » The Gloria Payten Foundation and The Gloria Dawn Foundation announces applications open for Glorias Fellowships 2019

Home » Lifestyle » Currently Reading:

The Gloria Payten Foundation and The Gloria Dawn Foundation announces applications open for Glorias Fellowships 2019

July 5, 2019 Lifestyle No Comments Email Email

The Trustees of the Gloria Payten Foundation and Gloria Dawn Foundation are pleased to announce that applications are open for The Glorias Fellowships for 2019. These annual Fellowships aim to benefit the Australian performing arts industry by offering talented professional actors and directors in theatre, film and television the chance to explore and develop their artistic pursuits through international travel and study.

On their return to work in Australia, Fellowship recipients share their new-found skills and knowledge with the broader arts community, providing an ongoing benefit. This year there will be three Fellowships available, with up to $15,000 per award.

Both the Gloria Payten Foundation and the Gloria Dawn Foundation represent the entire estate of Gloria Payten, a leading theatrical agent, who established International Casting Service in 1960. It was Payten’s intention to honour the memory of Gloria Dawn, one of Australia’s foremost actresses, through these Foundations. The Glorias are an extraordinary gift for Australian artists and represent the remarkable contribution to the performing arts industry made by these women.

Theatre and opera director Imara Savage won a Glorias Fellowship and describes it as ‘an absolute gift of an experience!’ She has directed award-winning productions for Sydney Theatre Company, Belvoir Theatre, State Theatre Company of South Australia and Sydney Chamber Opera. Imara travelled to Berlin, Prague and London for ‘much needed inspiration, encouragement and further investigation.’

Imara says that, ‘Investigating the process of working in the international festival circuit, programming agendas, and expanding my understanding of the role of dramaturgy in making work,’ gave her a fresh perspective. The Fellowship ‘really allowed me to consider new pathways and possibilities both within Australia and further afield,’ she said.

In accordance with the terms of the Bequest, the Trustees of the Foundations are: Brendon Lunney, Executive Producer, Chairman; Jenny Bott AO CEO, NIDA, ex officio; Professor Jon Cattapan, Director, Victorian College of the Arts, University of Melbourne, ex officio. At the request of the Trustees, the Fellowships are administered by NIDA.

Applications close 5pm, Friday 23 September 2019.  

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication