Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » TIA elects new Chair

Home » Appointments » Currently Reading:

TIA elects new Chair

September 12, 2016 Appointments No Comments Email Email

Grant Webster, the Chief Executive of Tourism Holdings Ltd (thl), has been elected as the new Chair of Tourism Industry Aotearoa.

unnamed (22)

Grant Webster

Mr Webster replaces company director Grant Lilly who was Chair for three years.

thl is one of New Zealand’s biggest tourism companies, operating a range of campervan hire brands, Kiwi Experience coaches and the Discover Waitomo experiences.

“The tourism industry has more growth to come and is being open and collaborative in its approach to ensure we are ready. As the champion and leader of the Tourism 2025 growth framework, TIA is in the unique position of linking with all aspects of the industry and has a critical role to play in the next 12 months as the voice of the industry,” Mr Webster says.

Real Journeys Chief Executive Richard Lauder and Dive! Tutukaka Director Jeroen Jongejans were elected as Deputy Chairs.

“As incoming Chair of TIA, I am very keen to acknowledge Grant Lilly’s work as Chair. Grant has always been a very open and pragmatic leader of the Board and with him remaining on the Board, we look forward to continuing to extract as much knowledge and experience as we can. I would also like to acknowledge the outgoing Deputy Chair David Perks, who has also served as Chair of the Operations, Audit and Risk subcommittee. David has been a great contributor to TIA for many years,” Mr Webster says.

TIA Board members for 2016-17 are:

Grant Webster (Chair), Chief Executive, Tourism Holdings Ltd (Land Transport Sector)

Kevin Bowler, Chief Executive, Tourism New Zealand (Tourism New Zealand representative)

Fergus Brown, Chief Executive, Holiday Accommodation Parks Association (Motels, Other Accommodation and Hospitality Sector)

Graham Budd, Chief Executive, Destination Queenstown (Regional Tourism Organisations Sector)

Craig Harris, Managing Director, McKay Shipping (Water Transport and Cruise Sector)

Martin Horgan, Managing Director, Southern World NZ Ltd and President, Tourism Export Council (Tourism Services and Services to Tourism Sector)

Jeroen Jongejans, Director, Dive! Tutukaka (Adventure and Outdoor Sector)

Richard Lauder, Chief Executive, Real Journeys and Cardrona Alpine Resort (co-opted)

Grant Lilly, Company Director (General Industry Sector)

Adrian Littlewood, Chief Executive, Auckland Airport (Air Transport Sector)

Christopher Luxon, Chief Executive Officer, Air New Zealand (co-opted)

Megan McSweeney, Director of Business, External Affairs and Tourism, Auckland War Memorial Museum (Culture and Heritage Sector)

Callum Mallett, General Manager Operations, New Zealand International Convention Centre (Attractions, Conferences and Events Sector)

Chris Sedgwick, Senior Vice President, New Zealand, Fiji and French Polynesia, AccorHotels (Hotel and Lodges Sector)

Justin Watson, Chief Commercial Officer – Aeronautical, Christchurch International Airport (General Industry Sector)

For more details, visit

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication




11 12