Home » Headline News » Currently Reading:

Travel and tourism people on honours list

June 15, 2016 Headline News No Comments Email Email


The founding director of North Star Cruises Australia, a former tourism minister and a renowned winemaking Jesuit are three of the people with links to tourism recognised on Monday in the 2016 Queen’s Birthday honours list.

The Order of Australia is an order of chivalry established on 14 February 1975 by Elizabeth II, Queen of Australia, to recognise Australian citizens and other persons for achievement or meritorious service.

Among recipients this year with tourism and/or aviation links:



Noel (Max) Patrick CHRISTMAS. (Qld.) “For significant service to the real estate and property development sectors, and to tourism, local government, youth and sporting groups.” Christmas was a founding committee member, Gold Coast Tourism Bureau, 1976-2006.

George Alfred LLOYD AO OBE. (NSW.) “For eminent service to the aviation industry, particularly to the advancement of air safety in Australia, through leading roles with national and international aeronautical organisations, and air-sport associations.”  



The Honourable George SOURIS. (NSW.) “For significant service to the people and Parliament of New South Wales, and to the community of the Upper Hunter.”

Souris was Minister for Tourism, Major Events, Hospitality and Racing between 2011 and 2014.

Richard Rawnsley CAVILL. (SA.) “For significant service to business and commerce in South Australia, as a supporter of industry development and training, and to the aviation sector.” Cavill is a former Chairman and Managing Director, SAATAS (South Australia and Territory Air Services), 1960-1985 and Former President and Director, SAATAS East Indonesia, 1967-1985.

Leon FINK. (NSW.) “For significant service to the tourism and hospitality industry, as a supporter of the arts, education, and medical research, and to the community.” Chairman and Director of The Fink Group, Fink is co-founder of the Tourism Taskforce in the 1980s and Life Governor. He was also co-creator and former director of Kinsela’s Brasserie, Bar and Theatre in Sydney.

Robert James HALL. (NSW.) “For significant service to sport aviation, particularly to gliding, through leadership, advocacy and training roles, and to the promotion of safety standards.”

Brother John Lawrence MAY. (SA.) “For significant service to winemaking, through contributions to professional associations, to regional tourism, and to the Catholic Church in Australia.”

May, the most revered member of Clare Valley’s winemaking community, received the Harry Dowling Award, South Australian Tourism Industry Council, 2005, “for outstanding contribution by an Individual in Regional Tourism”. He has been a Life Member of the Winemakers’ Federation of Australia since 2004.

Mark Wallace STONE. (Vic.) “For significant service to commerce and industry through leadership roles, to the environment and tourism sectors, and to the community.” Stone has been a board member of Tourism Australia since 2010 and was Chief Executive of Tourism Victoria, 2010-2011, as well as Deputy Secretary, Tourism Aviation and Communications, Department of Business and Innovation, 2010-2011. 



Peter John HURLEY. (SA.) “For distinguished service to the tourism and hospitality industries through a range of executive and leadership roles, to education and training, and to the promotion of public health initiatives.”

Hurley is a past president of the Australian Hotels Association and was a Board Member of Tourism Australia, 2000-2004. He’s been Managing Director of Hurley Hotel Group since 1975 and was named “Champion of Entrepreneurship”, Ernst and Young Entrepreneurship of the Year Awards South Australia, 2015.




Craig Bradford HOWSON. (WA.) “For service to the tourism industry in Western Australia.”

Howson is founding director of North Star Cruises Australia. He first offered adventure-cruises along Western Australia’s Kimberley coast in 1987 and, in 2017 North Star will celebrate 30 years of successful operations.

Responding to the award, Howson said “It is very humbling to receive this recognition. It makes me realise how fortunate I was to pioneer adventure-cruising in the Kimberley. To see what has evolved from those early days is also very rewarding and I am extremely grateful to those who joined me along the way.”  

Professor Leo Kenneth JAGO. (Vic.) “For service to the tourism industry, and to education.”

Jago was inaugural Chief Economist and General Manager, Tourism Research Australia, 2012-2014 and a member, Sustainable Tourism Partnership Group, Tourism Victoria, 2006-2012. He was also on the Industry Advisory Panel Research, Tourism Australia, 2005-2007 and has held several roles in sustainable tourism and hospitality research and other tourism-related enterprises.

Alan George KILLMIER. (SA.) “For service to aviation, particularly to gliding, and to the community.”

Phyllis Irene BOYD. (Vic.) “For service to heritage preservation.” Boyd served as President, Gisborne and Mount Macedon Districts Historical Society, 1998-2015 and Secretary, 1987-1998.

Helen Carlyle COULSON. (Vic.) “For service to the community of Echuca-Moama.”

Coulson received the Living Legend award for significant contributions to the tourism and hospitality industry in the Echuca-Moama region, Echuca Moama and District Tourism, 2015.

Lieutenant Colonel Peter Edward McGUINNESS MBE RFD ED (Retd). (Tas.) “For service to military history preservation.” An author and editor of military histories, McGuinness was Tour Guide, Military History Tourism, 2008 (France and Belgium) and 2015 (Gallipoli for Centenary).

Edna May STRIDE. (NSW.) “For service to the community of the Nambucca Valley.” Stride chaired the Nambucca Valley Tourist Association, 1985-2004.

Adrianne Claire FLEMING. (Vic.) “For service to the aviation industry.”



Gary Charles LAVELLE. (NSW.) “For outstanding public service to local government in New South Wales.” Lavelle has been the driving force behind initiatives which ensured that tourism to the town of Temora continued during serious drought years.

Robert Clive PEAKE. (ACT.) “For outstanding public service to aviation safety.”

Written by Peter Needham

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication