Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Yacht race prize giving ceremony sees Seychelles Tourism Board reward winners of the annual La Digue’s yacht race winners

Home » Destination Global » Currently Reading:

Yacht race prize giving ceremony sees Seychelles Tourism Board reward winners of the annual La Digue’s yacht race winners

August 26, 2014 Destination Global No Comments Email Email

Seychelles-TravelEight teams took part in this year’s annual La Digue yacht race, a sports competition organised as part of the Feast of the Assumption on La Digue every 15th August.

As it has been in over the years, the Seychelles Tourism Board, a faithful partner to La Digue’s annual festivities, has worked closely with the island’s committee to ensure the success of the 2014 edition of their yacht race.

This year, eight yachts came forward to take part in the race in two categories- Monohull class and Multihull class.

The prize giving ceremony of the yacht race took place at La Digue’s Taroza restaurant at La Passe and was attended by the Minister for Tourism and Culture Alain St.Ange, Natural Resources Minister Peter Sinon, elected member of the National Assembly for the Inner Islands Chantal Ghislain, chief executive of the tourism board Sherin Naiken and that of the National Arts Council Jimmy Savy.

Deputy chief executive of the tourism board Nathalie Didon as well as the first and second princesses of the Miss Seychelles…Another World 2014 beauty pageant Lisa Rose and Marvel Godley were also present.

As done in previous years, the yachts sailed from the main island of Mahe all the way to La Digue on August 15, which is the day of the Feast of the Assumption itself.

This year, there were two prizes given in each category- a first-prize winner and the runner-up.

For the multihull class, the winner- 4 Pat- received a glass trophy and R3000 proudly sponsored by the tourism board. The 4 Pat yacht, with skipper Patrick Lablache, was the only one that took part in the multihull class hence there was no runner-up.

The winner of the monohull class was Excalibur, with Roy Fonseka and his team taking the R3000 cash prize and a glass trophy.

Runner-up in the same category was Marliz, with Albert Ah-Weng and his team taking up a glass trophy and the R2000 cash prize.

Minister St.Ange congratulated the teams that took part in the yacht race, re-affirming the ministry and tourism board’s commitment towards keeping sailing as a unique selling point for our islands.

“Our islands were conceived with sailors and sailing in mind. Our clean and clear turquoise blue seas remain inviting for sailing and for yacht races. We shall continue to support such competitions that bring the best out of our sailing enthusiasts” Minister St.Ange said.


Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global Travel media endorses the following travel publication