Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Art Gallery of South Australia announces Ramsay Art Prize finalists

Home » Accolades »Headline News » Currently Reading:

Art Gallery of South Australia announces Ramsay Art Prize finalists

May 11, 2019 Accolades, Headline News No Comments Email Email

The 23 finalists have been selected for one of Australia’s richest art prizes.

The Ramsay Art Prize is a $100,000 acquisitive prize held every two years for contemporary Australian artists under the age of forty.

Finalists showcase their work at a major exhibition at the Art Gallery of South Australia in Adelaide from 25 May to 25 August 2019.

An international panel of judges shortlisted 23 finalists out of 350 entrants and will select the winner on Friday 24 May 2019.

Art Gallery of South Australia Director Rhana Devenport said she is thrilled to present the second iteration of the Ramsay Art Prize.

“This year’s finalists are testament to the energetic pulse of contemporary Australian art, and we are excited to celebrate the vision and ingenuity of artists from across the country at AGSA,” she said.

The international judging panel includes Deputy Director of the National Gallery of Singapore Russell Storer, contemporary Australian artist Richard Lewer and Assistant Director of Artistic Programs at the Art Gallery of South Australia Dr Lisa Slade.

The winning work will be acquired into the Gallery’s collection and the artist will receive $100,000 from the James & Diana Ramsay Foundation.

James & Diana Ramsay Foundation Executive Director Kerry de Lorme said the foundation is committed to fostering excellence and accessibility in the arts.

“The Ramsay Art Prize embodies these values and much more, providing all 23 finalists with a professional platform upon which to test their best work,” she said.

The Ramsay Art Prize 2019 finalist exhibition also includes a People’s Choice Prize worth $15,000 that is decided by public vote and is supported by sponsor Lipman Karas.

The works of Ramsay Art Prize 2017 winner Sarah Contos and People’s Choice 2017 winner Julie Fragar are currently on display at the Art Gallery of South Australia.

The finalists:

  • Liam Benson (NSW)
  • Jessica Bradford (NSW)
  • Ry David Bradley (VIC)
  • Eric Bridgeman (QLD)
  • Lina Buck (VIC)
  • Dale Collier (NSW)
  • Julia deVille (VIC)
  • Kuba Dorabialski (NSW)
  • Emily Ferretti (VIC)
  • Tom Freeman (WA)
  • Tarryn Gill (WA)
  • Nathan Hawkes (NSW)
  • Sophia Hewson (VIC)
  • Hayley Millar-Baker (VIC)
  • Viv Miller (VIC)
  • Pierre Mukeba (SA)
  • Vincent Namatjira (SA)
  • Phuong Ngo (VIC)
  • Ramesh Mario Nithiyendran (NSW)
  • Jahnne Pasco-White (VIC)
  • Huseyin Sami (NSW)
  • Isadora Vaughan (VIC)
  • Sera Waters (SA)

Comment on this Article:

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication




%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: