Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Australia – Can You Travel Interstate?

Home » Visit Oceania » Currently Reading:

Australia – Can You Travel Interstate?

July 31, 2020 Visit Oceania No Comments Email Email

Australia is struggling right now as the second COVID-19 wave hit. Because of this, the rules associated with border closures and travel restrictions keep changing. Right now, here is what you have to be aware of.


Borders were always open for interstate travelers. However, as a Victorian, you cannot travel to other parts of the country without exemptions. For instance, if you are a service professional like, you can be given the necessary exemption. Travel restrictions did ease in June but now, Victorians need to stay indoors.

New South Wales

On June 1st, travel restrictions were removed but starting July 8, residents are officially warned not to travel to the towns that are close to the border of Victoria. After July 21, tighter restrictions were applied.

On July 7, the border with Victoria was closed. You can only travel for work, healthcare, or work purposes.


Travel inside the state was allowed for holidays and recreation from June 1. However, residents were warned not to travel to the areas that are considered to be COVID-19 hotspots in Melbourne and Sydney. The border was always open but starting July 8, Victorians cannot enter ACT without exemptions.

South Australia

In South Australia, you can freely travel throughout the state. However, camping in reserves and national parks is not allowed. The borders with the Northern Territory, Queensland, Tasmania, and Western Australia were opened but you can only enter South Australia if you agree for a 2 weeks self-isolation.

Starting July 8, residents coming from Victoria cannot enter South Australia, except after quarantine.

Image source –


The border opened for people from all states on July 10, except those coming from Victoria. Also, starting July 14, the borders for residents of 77 suburbs in Sydney were also closed because of declared outbreak hot spots. If you cross the Queensland border, you are issued an Entry Pass.

Western Australia

Ever since May 29, residents were allowed full state travel, with Kimberley being the only restriction and the active biosecurity zones of Shire and Pilbara. Starting June 5, the hot spots were opened for travelers, although there are indigenous communities that are still off-limits. The border of Western Australia is now closed to the interstate travelers, except those with exemptions.


Free state travel started to be allowed on June 5. There is no need to go through quarantine when traveling to Flinders and King Islands. If you are a non-resident, you are not allowed to enter Tasmania. Also, the non-essential travelers have to enter quarantine, even if they are allowed to go in. This is done at special Government provided accommodations. On July 24, all the borders should be opened, except for people coming from Victoria.

Northern Territory

After June 15, monitored quarantine was modified to self-quarantine. With interstate travel, people are allowed to come in but have to choose a quarantine option. After July 17, the borders were open for the interstate visitors, except those coming from Victoria, the Blue Mountains, and 30 Greater Sydney government areas that are still COVID-19 hotspots.

Comment on this Article:

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication




%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: