Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » SBS reveals final three acts and five new songs for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’

Home » Events / Whats On » Currently Reading:

SBS reveals final three acts and five new songs for ‘Eurovision – Australia Decides’

January 21, 2019 Events / Whats On No Comments Email Email

SBS and production partner Blink TV today announced five new songs and the final three acts to compete in the first ever national selection show Eurovision – Australia Decides next month.

Hosted on the Gold Coast and broadcast live and exclusively on SBS on Saturday 9 February, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase some of Australia’s biggest acts, singing original compositions, for their chance to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2019.

Rounding out a diverse line-up of artists from across the musical spectrum are: rock music icon Ella Hooper well-known and loved for her debut in rock-pop band Killing Heidi, bona fide Aussie pop legend Tania Doko best known for her success in ARIA award winning pop duo Bachelor Girl and The Voice winner Alfie Arcuri.

SBS can also reveal five more original compositions released today: Mark Vincent will sing This Is Not The End, a powerful song about facing obstacles with persistence and determination. Aydan’s song Dust is about young love and heartbreak, 16-year-old Leea Nanos’ song Set Me Free is about empowerment and letting go of self-doubt, while Alfie Arcuri’s To Myself questions how one could ever doubt their self-worth. Teased over New Year’s Eve, modern electric-soul duo Electric Fields’s song 2000 and Whatever is a brooding and joyous track about making the most of life, while legendary drag queen Courtney Act’s song Fight for Love was released last month. This leaves just four songs to be released from Sheppard, Kate Miller-Heidke, Tania Doko and Ella Hooper.

Alfie Arcuri said: “It’s an honour to be involved in a competition that celebrates and embraces music and diversity… and to take this journey alongside such amazing Australian talents is truly incredible! There’s always something special about the first – scary but exciting!”

Ella Hooper said: “It’s very exciting to be involved in anything that is the first of its kind, and in recent years I have become more and more fascinated with Eurovision, so it’s perfect timing! I’m hoping to bring a bit of traditional rock ‘n’ roll energy to a bombastic performance of a meaningful pop song.”

Tania Doko said: “This is one of those unplanned, didn’t-see-this-coming little chapter in my career I’m embracing with a sense of adventure and excitement. Then, as a songwriter performing a song I co-wrote, there’s the icing on the cake right there!”

Hosted by radio host and music buff Myf Warhurst, and comedian Joel Creasey, Eurovision – Australia Decides will showcase the best of Australian music and bring the nation closer to the Eurovision action.

In association with the Queensland Government via Tourism and Events Queensland and the City of Gold Coast, Eurovision – Australia Decides will be presented at the Gold Coast Convention Centre on Friday 8 and Saturday 9 February and tickets for the Jury Preview Show, Matinee Preview Show and Live TV Final are now on sale.

Be a part of history and see it live at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre.

JURY PREVIEW SHOW Friday 8 February, 7.30pm AEST (Not televised) Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre National Jury Vote

MATINEE PREVIEW SHOW Saturday 9 February, 1.00pm AEST (Not televised) Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre

LIVE TV FINAL Saturday 9 February, 7.30pm AEST Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre Public Vote (Live and Exclusive TV Broadcast on SBS)

To purchase tickets:

Eurovision – Australia Decides airs Saturday 9 February live on SBS, when voting will be open to the public. Broadcast times across Australia: NSW/VIC/TAS/ACT 8:30pm – 11:00pm AEDT QLD 7:30pm – 10:00pm AEST SA 8:00pm – 10:30pm ACDT WA 5:30pm – 8:00pm AWST NT 7:00pm – 9:30pm ACST

For songs, click links to download: Alfie Arcuri – To Myself By Alfie Arcuri, Audius Mtawarira, Séb Mont

Aydan – Dust By Aydan, Cam Bluff and Dylan Joel

Electric Fields – 2000 and Whatever By Michael Ross and Zaachariaha Fielding

Leea Nanos – Set Me Free By Leea Nanos and Frank Dixon

Mark Vincent – This Is Not The End By Mark Vincent, Roberto De Sa and Isabella Kearney-Nurse

Courtney Act – Fight for Love By Filly Adams, Sky Adams, Danny Shah and Shane Jenek

Stay tuned to the SBS Eurovision website for updates

#Eurovision #AusDecides

Comment on this Article:

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication




%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: