Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » Society of American Travel Writers Announces 2020 Winners of the Bill Muster Photo Competition

Home » Competition » Currently Reading:

Society of American Travel Writers Announces 2020 Winners of the Bill Muster Photo Competition

October 25, 2019 Competition No Comments Email Email

The Society of American Travel Writers (SATW) announced the winners of the 2020 Bill Muster Photo Competition during its annual convention, taking place now through October 24, 2019, in El Paso. SATW named Kerrick James the 2020 Photographer of the Year in the organization’s annual Bill Muster Photo Competition.

The 2020 Bill Muster Photo Competition recognizes outstanding photography in the following categories: Photographer of the Year (a portfolio of 20 photos), Single Subject Portfolio (10 photos), Action/Adventure, Animal, Culture, Natural Scenic, People (General) and People (Portrait). Winners were selected from 1,437 photo entries. Following are the winners in each category:

Photographer of the Year:
Gold – Kerrick James, Silver – Laura Watilo Blake, Bronze – Donnie Sexton

Single Subject Portfolio:
Gold – Lily Girma, Silver – Gail Mooney-Kelly, Bronze – Sylvia Longmire,

Gold – Chad Case, Silver – Julie Bielenberg, Bronze – Shelly Rivoli,
Honorable Mention – Chad Case

Gold – Steve RosenbergSilver – Lydia Schrandt, Bronze – Phil Marty,
Honorable Mentions – Steve Bly, Matthew Payne (two Honorable Mention awards)

Gold – Gail Mooney-Kelly, Silver – Eric LindbergBronze – Art Meripol,
Honorable Mention – Larry Bleiberg

Natural Scenic:
Gold – Dave Bouskill, Silver – Ellen Clark, Bronze – Lola Akerstrom,
Honorable Mentions – Greg Vaughn, Judith Garrison

People General:
Gold – Mark Downey, Silver – Phil Marty, Bronze – Stuart Dee,
Honorable Mentions ­­– Lola Akerstrom, Carol Patterson

People Portrait:
Gold – Yulia DenisyukSilver – Lola AkerstromBronze – Carol Patterson,
Honorable Mentions – Eric Lindberg, Lola Akerstrom

SATW has honored the finest in editorial travel photography with the SATW Bill Muster Photo Competition (formerly the Bill Muster Photo Showcase) since 1981.

“The awards were named for Bill Muster, a photographer and beloved member of SATW who passed away in 1989. For thirty years, his children Nori and Bill Jr., have generously continued their father’s legacy with an annual gift which funds the cash prizes awarded for individual photos as well as portfolios. SATW’s Board of Directors values the Muster family’s passion for capturing the world’s monuments and people, its natural landscapes and culture, through the lens of a camera, and for their support of SATW’s photographers,” said David Swanson, SATW President.

The mission of SATW is Inspiring Travel Through Responsible Journalism. SATW’s membership is comprised of 1,000 members including: journalists, photographers, editors; bloggers and online content providers; film lecturers, radio, television and film producers; and tourism-industry public relations representatives. SATW is a nonprofit 501(c)(6) professional association.

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication




%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: