Global Travel Media » Blog Archive » USGA Announces 2019 Executive Committee Nominations

Home » Golf Tourism » Currently Reading:

USGA Announces 2019 Executive Committee Nominations

November 28, 2018 Golf Tourism No Comments Email Email

The United States Golf Association (USGA) Nominating Committee has released its 2019 slate of Executive Committee members and officers for the association, adding three new names to an already deep and diverse list of business leaders who share a common love of golf.

USGA President Mark Newell has been nominated to serve a second one-year term. Picture by USGA/John Mummert.

Leading the nominations is Mark Newell, who has been nominated to serve a second one-year term as President of the USGA.

Newell was elected as the association’s 65th President at the USGA’s Annual Meeting in February. Currently in his sixth year on the Executive Committee, he leads the committee that serves as the policy-making board of the organisation.

Stuart Francis has been nominated as President-elect, a position created to provide committee leadership succession and continuity. Currently serving his fourth year on the governing board, Francis chairs the USGA Championship Committee and serves on the Equipment Standards Committee.

An accomplished amateur golfer, Francis played in three US Amateur Championships and two NCAA Championships and earned All-American honourable mention at Princeton University. As Senior Managing Director for Evercore, he leads the firm’s Silicon Valley technology practice. During his career, he has been an advisor to many of the most visible technology companies, including Dell, Facebook, Google and Qualcomm.

In addition, three new people have been nominated to the 2019 Executive Committee: Anthony (TonyAndersonDeborah Platt Majoras and Fred Perpall. If elected at the USGA’s Annual Meeting in February, they will assume seats vacated by retiring members Greg MorrisonMark Reinemann and Clifford Shahbaz.

“This is an exciting and pivotal time at the USGA, as we continue to undertake game-changing work to ensure a healthy future for golf,” said Mike Davis, CEO of the USGA. “The business acumen, executive-calibre skill, and governance experience demonstrated by these nominees further strengthen an already exceptional group of leaders who genuinely care about the game. We are thankful for their willingness to give back to the game.”

Two current members of the Executive Committee have also been nominated to serve as officers. They are Martha Lang as Secretary and Thomas Barkin as Treasurer. Other current members nominated to continue their service are: Michael BaileyStephen BeebePaul BrownKendra GrahamRobert KainNick PriceSharon Ritchey and William SiartDick Shortz has also been nominated to continue his service as General Counsel.

“These 15 individuals who comprise the USGA Executive Committee ensure that the organisation fulfils its mission to act in the best interests of the game, for all who love and play it,” said Jim Hyler, USGA Nominating Committee Chairman and President of the association in 2010 and 2011. “All Executive Committee members share a love for the game and a desire to more meaningfully contribute to its future.”

Comment on this Article:

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

Platinium Partnership


Elite Partnership Sponsors


Premier Partnership Sponsors


Official Media Event Partner


Global travel media endorses the following travel Publication




%d bloggers like this:
%d bloggers like this: